Networking via the mobile app for event organizers

This article shows the feature that enables interactions between attendees within the Mobile App. To learn more about networking via the Virtual Lobby, refer to the Networking guide for event organizers article.

This feature enables interactions between attendees on the Mobile App. Attendees will receive a generated contact list of other attendees and their information among those who are present at the event. Attendees can select to share their contact information, social network links etc. Then, send a message to another attendee among those at the event.

Enabling Networking feature

To enable this feature, go to Settings > Tools > scroll down until you see the Live section or search for 'Networking'. Then, press Edit, and make sure the Networking toggle button is checked. Press End to save the changes.

Enabling networking

If instead of seeing a toggle button, you see No, you will need to enable this feature at the company tools. To do so, go to the company level, and click Account > Tools in the menu on the left-hand side. Then, scroll down until you see the Live section, press Edit, and make sure the Networking toggle button is checked. Press End to save the changes.

Enabling the networking at the company level

For event organizers

Adding a Networking tab on Virtual Lobby for smartphones

If you wish to have a dedicated space for the Networking and Group room sections in the App, follow these steps:

  1. Click on Settings > Tab > Virtual Lobby > enable the tabs you wish to make it Visible
  2. Go to Event > Preview
  3. Copy the URL of the page you wish to be display on the App, for ex: networking.php
  4. Go back to the backend and click on Live app
  5. Click on +New Item > enter the Item Title and paste the URL at the Item Link
  6. Press Create
Gif showing how to add networking tab to mobile app.

You can repeat the same steps for the dedicated tab to the Group Rooms, Speed networking, and other networking tabs too.

For more information regarding the customizable tab, refer to our Tabs article.

By doing this, the participants will be able to participate at the same networking experiences as if they were connected to the web.

Blocking conversations among Attendees

To avoid conversations in the networking area, go to Settings > Tools > Edit, then look for the Block section and activate the Chat lock feature.

This way, attendees can see who the present people are but not chat with them.

Blocking Instant meetings among Attendees

To prevent attendees from being able to instantly video call or schedule a meeting with one another, go to Settings > Tools > Block section > Instant meeting lock. Click on Edit and then tick the corresponding box. This way the camera icon will not appear for attendees when they click on each others' profiles, and they can only schedule a meeting from the Networking tab.

Precluding Attendees from bookmarking each other

To prevent attendees from bookmarking each other on the networking, go to Settings > Tools > Edit, under the Block section activate the Favorite lock feature.

This way, attendees can see who the present people are, but not bookmark them.

Preventing attendees' personal data visualization (e.g. email and phone number)

To prevent attendees' data visualization, go to Settings > Tools > Edit, then under the Block section activate both Email lock and Phone lock.


How Did We Do?