Speed Networking

Using the Speed Networking, participants will be able to engage in 1x1 meetings randomly assigned in the Virtual Lobby and in the App.

Besides the Speed Networking, we also offer other networking options such as creating group rooms to begin a private or public discussion, or even pre-scheduling 1x1 meetings with other participants. Click here for further information on these networking options.

How do I enable the Networking?

To enable Networking, go to Settings > Tools > press Edit and scroll down to the Live section. Then, make sure the Networking checkbox is ticked.

Enabling the networking tool

If instead of seeing a checkbox, you see Click, you will need to enable this feature at the company tools. To do so, simply press Click and a new tab will be opened automatically on the company tools page.

Then, scroll down until you see the Live section, press Edit, and make sure the  Networking checkbox is checked. Press End to save the changes.

shows how to activated the networking at the company level

Enabling the Speed Networking in the Virtual Lobby

Now, to enable the Speed Networking, go to Settings > Tabs. You will see at the top menu the option to select from Live app, Virtual Lobby, or Virtual Rooms, you should select Virtual Lobby.

Then, press Edit and scroll down until you find the tab Virtual Lobby - Speed Networking and tick its checkbox.

Gif on how to enable the networking roulette

You can edit the tab's name and its icon by clicking on it and pressing Edit. Click here for further information on how to customize tabs.

Enabling Speed Networking in the App

Once this feature is enabled at the Virtual Lobby you can also add as customizable tab. Follow the steps below:

  1. Click on Settings > Tab > Virtual Lobby > make the Speed Networking Visible
  2. Go to Event > Preview
  3. Copy the URL of the Speed Networking
  4. Go back to the backend and click on Live app
  5. Click on +New Item > enter the Item Title and paste the URL at the Item Link
  6. Press Create
gif showing how to add speed networking tab in the app

How do I set up the length of the networking sessions?

To set up the length of the networking sessions, go to Event > Virtual Lobby > Access policy and you will see a section called Speed Networking.

Press Edit and set the maximum time allowed for each session. You should leave these fields empty if there's no limit on how long these sessions should be.

Networking roulette

Timer renew

If you wish to allow the participants to extend the timer when the session is about to end, you can enable this option under the Virtual Lobby settings:

Timer in the Virtual Lobby

If this feature is enabled the participant will see the + button next to the counter, so when the meeting reaches 10 seconds before its end any of the users can press the button and extend it for another 60 seconds. As shown in the image below:

Both participants will hear a sound notification when the timer is running up.
The users can extend the meeting as many times as they wish.
Timer in the App

Whichever settings the admin select for the Speed Networking in the Virtual Lobby, it will also reflect in the Speed Networking on mobile devices.

In case the Timer renew is enabled, the participants can also use in the App:

shows the timer for Speed networking in the app

How can participants join the Speed Networking?

Virtual Lobby

To access the Speed Networking, the participants should follow these steps:

  1. First they need to click on the Virtual Lobby - Speed Networking tab in the menu on the left-hand side.
  2. Now, to start having random 1x1 meetings, participants should press the I'm ready button. After clicking on it, they will be matched with another attendee.
  3. Once they are matched, both participants will receive a sound notification asking them to either start or cancel the meeting. They will have 15 seconds to answer the pop-up.

If both attendees matched press Start, they will be taken to a room for them to talk, as shown below:

Ready to connect

Anyone that is attending the event can join the Speed Networking, but the profile privacy must be set to Public. If it's set to private, the attendee will not be able to join the Speed Networking. Click here for further information on how the attendee's visibility will affect their networking options.
If one of the matched attendees press Cancel, the other one will be notified that the match has been rejected and will be taken back to the speed networking lobby so they can look for another match.

Once the session is over, both users will be sent back to the speed lobby.

App

To access the Speed Networking in the App follow the steps:

  1. Click on Menu > Speed Networking
  2. Press 'I'm ready'
  3. Click on Start to accept or Cancel to look for another match
images of the app to show how to connect
If the participants decide to renew the timer this can also be done on mobile devices.

Networking history

Virtual Lobby

Under the section My networking history, the attendees will see the list of all people they have networked with.

Networking history

App

The 'My Networking history' will also be displayed in the App as a list:

screenshot shows the networking history


How Did We Do?