Interacting with attendees during your virtual activities

Inside your activities, there are many ways that you can interact with those attending your event.

To learn more about setting up your activities, please review the FAQ detailing these steps

Each activity has up to five tabs within the right side panel. Along with the People tab which displays who is in attendance, there is also:

  1. Chat
  2. Questions
  3. Polls
  4. Files

Each of these interaction tools can be controlled and will assist you in increasing engagement with and from your attendees.

All of these options are auto enabled in each activity; each activity can be configured differently.

To hide any of these tabs inside a particular activity, go to Agenda > Activities, and select your activity. Scroll to the end of the Details tab.

Click on Edit and simply tick the box beside the option you wish to hide from view.

  1. Chat

In the Chat tab, participants will be able to chat during the session. The chat can be viewed by all participants in the room.

Inside the room, all participants (presenters and viewers) can interact in the chat area simply navigating to the Chat tab, typing a message and pressing Send.

Screenshot chat
Pre-approval of chat messages

If you prefer to have control over the chat messages that are being sent, you can choose to either approve or reject each of these messages.

To do this, simply go to Settings > Tools, and search for Comments of Attendees. If you untick this option, this will be set to No, and all comments will need to be approved before being made visible to your attendees. You will also have the option to reject chat messages with this setting.

With this setting deactivated, you will now see that all comments need to be approved. Admin and Room Hosts will have the ability to approve or reject these comments inside of the activity.

If approved, the message will then become visible to attendees. If rejected, they will be removed from the activity, and the system.

Comments from administrators will always be approved
Screenshot chat approval
Pinned messages

If, as an admin, you take your cursor and hover over any message, you will see a drawing pin icon.

The drawing pin enables you to pin the message you have selected, and this will be duplicated into a Pinned messages area.

Screenshot pinned chat

To unpin, simply click on the drawing pin icon again, and this will be removed from the Pinned messages area.

Deleting messages

Admin and Room Hosts can delete a message from the chat easily. Simply hover over the message with your cursor, and select the trash can icon. When you do this, you will be presented with a warning message, asking you to confirm this action.

Screenshot delete chat

  1. Questions

The Questions tab can be used to collect your attendees' questions in a single location, making it easy for your attendees and speakers to see what questions are being asked, and which questions are most popular.

Questions can be added simply by typing a question in the text box, and pressing send.

All questions will be visible here, and attendees can upvote popular questions. The more votes, the higher on the list that question will appear!

Screenshot chat > questions
Pre-approval of Questions

Similarly to Chat, you can choose to require pre-approval of questions before they become visible to your attendees.

To activate pre approval of questions, go to Settings > Tools, and search for Questions of Attendees. All Questions will require approval before becoming visible to your attendees if you untick this option. Like Chat, you will also have the option to reject Questions with this setting.

After deactivating this setting, all questions will have to be approved or rejected before being publicly visible.

Screenshot questions approval

Deleting Questions

Admin and Room Hosts can easily delete a question from the questions tab if they deem necessary. To delete, just click the Delete option below the message. When you do this, you will be presented with a warning message, asking you to confirm this action.

Screenshot deleting questions

  1. Polls

    To know more about creating polls inside the InEvent platform, click here.

The Polls tab is where all attendees can interact with surveys or optioned questions created by presenters, room hosts or admin.

Creating polls

To create a poll inside your activity, simply click the Create Poll button inside this tab.

Creating a poll in your activity

You will then see a popup, where you can write the name of your poll, add different answer options, and select whether or not you want this poll to be visible to your attendees.

When you are happy with your poll, click create.

creating a poll in the virtual lobby

The poll will now be posted in the poll tab for your audience to answer.

You can see the number of votes under the poll itself, and review how many votes each option received by hovering over that option.

polls virtual lobby > votes
Making polls in/visible

The small eye symbol depicts if this poll is visible to your attendees. If you wish to hide this poll from view, simply click the eye, and you will be presented with a confirmation pop up to make this poll invisible.

Click on Yes to make this poll invisible, and you will now see your poll with depicting an eye with a strike though it. If you then wish to make it visible, simply click on this symbol to reverse the process

invisible polls

  1. Files

The Files tab is where additional material can be added for your attendees while your session is happening.

This option is great for presenters and speakers to upload documentation, slides, or any other files they would like to share without having access to the InEvent platform.

To upload a file, simply click on the text Upload a file, and choose the file from your computer.

To complete the upload, click on the circular send icon.

Virtual lobby > files
Files cannot be deleted from inside the activity. They must be removed from inside the platform, in Agenda > Activities

Can I change the name of these tabs?

Yes! As an admin, you can rename any of these tabs by navigating to the Headings section of your platform.

Each of these options will start with Virtual Lobby -

Virtual lobby headings

Simply select the heading you wish to change, and enter the heading value you wish for it to change to. The default value will show you what the original name of this heading is.

How to can the attendees raise their hand in the Virtual Lobby?

In the Virtual Lobby, the attendees should be able to notify the meeting's host that they would like to speak.

The raise hand icon will only appear to viewers. Those who are presenters shouldn't see the raise hand icon in the top left.

To raise your hand, simply click on the little hand icon in the top left of the room.

Screenshot of how to raise your hand

It will simply put a little hand icon beside your name under the tab People so the meeting's host know you have a question or input.

Screenshot of how to check who has raised their hand under People

Once the meeting's host notice that the attendee has raised their hand, what they can do is click on the icon in the right-hand side to invite this attendee to speak.

How to invite an attendee to speak

After being invited to speak, the attendee should receive a video call request. If they accept it, they will become presenters and will be able to speak and have their cameras on.


How Did We Do?